oldie noobie wanting to update an old bike

seezed
seezed Posts: 19
edited May 2010 in Road beginners
Hi

I've been riding an mtb for about a year now after a long time out of the saddle but would love to get my old Raleigh Record Sprint up and running again. The frame is in good nick, trouble is the gear and braking systems have seen better days and I'd love to get them replaced with new ones but where do I start? As its a labour of love I'm not going to throw much money at it (unless I get the bug good and proper) so I'll probably be scouring ebay but whats the right spec for my bike? Its circa 1988 with downtube shifters. Its also a double with 14 gears but I'd love to go for a triple with at least 21 but would love more to help my aging flabby ass get up them hills. Can I go for modern or what? I mean how far could I go with it? I'm just not a techie so when I see components on websites I'm utterly clueless as to what would suit my bike or not. I just need pointing in the right direction.

I'd love to get a new bike but financially thats out of the question at the moment.

Help!??!
Derby till I die!

Comments

• Diogenes
    Diogenes Posts: 1,628
    Hi Seezed,

It is relatively straightforward to replace worn out rear cogs, you just need to know whether you have a screw on freewheel or a free hub and cassette. I am not aware of any 7 speed freehubs so would "guess" that you will have screw on freewheel.

Oddly it can be more difficult to find these now but they are readiliy available on the net.

With non indexed downtube shifters you have no real problems with changing cables etc.

However if you want to move to triple you will probably have to change the rear mech as the short cage on your double may not accommodate the loose chain when you drop to the granny ring on a triple. Also you may (but not always) have to change the bottom bracket to accommodate the extra ring on the front.