Replaced chain,reasons for slipping gears if not cassette

danielsbrewer
danielsbrewer Posts: 123
edited May 2010 in The workshop
Hello,

So for the first time ever I changed the chain on my bike last night. I had brought a chain stretch tool and waited until the chain had stretched by "0.75" before replacing it. Now this morning a couple of the gears are slipping (5 & 6 out of 8 at the back when in the central chain ring). I have had a look at the cassette and it doesn't look shark finned at all. Is there anything else that is causing the slips? Could it be the indexing?

As you may have guessed I am very new to this maintenance stuff so be gentle.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    things it could be.

worn chain ring.

stiff link in the chain

freehub on the way out

rotate the cranks backwards while watching the rear mech. Does it seem to "jump"?

if yes you have a stiff link.

is the chain the same Speed?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • I don't think it is a worn chain ring as it was replaced at the same time as the cassette when the last chain was put on. Definitely the right speed chain.

I will have a look at the stiff link, thanks.

How would you know if the freehub is on its way out?
  • boneyjoe
    boneyjoe Posts: 369
    I'd recon its the casette unfortunately. Check if the same gears slip in the other chain rings. If that happens, I'm pretty sure your cassette needs replacing. It literally only takes a millimetre of wear to cause a problem, which is hard to see with the naked eye.
    Scott Scale 20 (for xc racing)
    Gary Fisher HKEK (for commuting)
  • MrChuck
    MrChuck Posts: 1,663
    boneyjoe wrote: