Chain issues

stueyuk
stueyuk Posts: 11
edited May 2010 in The workshop
Hi all, newbie here.... :oops:

Please excuse the essay....

I have a cheap 21 speed hybrid which i use to commute to work on.

Have been using it for 6 months with no real issues. However, i have noticed recently that it is taking an age to change gear. I select it on the twist grip changer and it rattles for a bit and then might change. Sometimes i go two gears down just to make sure it changes once (if that makes sense...).

Through my tight-arsedness and sheer bloody mindedness, i don't want to take it somewhere to be fixed so i'm a bit of a DIYer. I bought a new 7 speed compatible chain (shimano HG50) and fitted it. To be sure, i counted the links on the old chain before fitting the new one and it would appear that the chain has streched by at least one links length (is that amount of give usual??). Anyway, on the ride in this morning i found that the something in the drivetrain is slipping. I was in 2nd gear (come on, it's a bloody big hill!!) and when the chainset was under heavyish load, it kept slipping. In the other gears used (18th, 19th, 21st) it seemed okay, might have slipped once but not noticable as in 2nd.

Could it be that the chain is simply wrong for my cheap set up?? It does look ever-so slightly thicker than the original... Or, could be the cassette is worn too....??

Any help would be appreciated..

Cheers

Stuey

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    well your first issue sounds like friction in the gear cables.

and as to your second problem yes chains do come in different widths and generally are not mixable.

keep everything the same speed and you will be fine.
    a couple of sites to have a read of when you have some time.

the Sheldon and Parktools sites in my sig.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • stueyuk
    Thanks for replying Nicklouse.