Carrera Kraken 08 - Gears S ram x5

maxamo
maxamo Posts: 51
edited April 2010 in MTB general
Hi,
I have crashed my carrera kraken 08 model and snapped off the shifting gear for going up. The gears go from 1 - 9 and it is a x ram x5 the same one that came on the bike. Will i only need to replace the gear shifter on the handle bar?
How much would halfords charge to buy and fit a gear shifter?
If anyone has anylinks to where i can buy these cheap it would be a help
Or if anyone has any spares x5_triggershifter_large.jpg

Thanks
Max

Comments

• Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    Yup, just replace the whole shifter, ideally with another X5 or an X7 shifter because the cable pull will be the same meaning no need for a new cable inner. Very simple to swap over, just a few minute's work.
    Uncompromising extremist
  • maxamo
    Northwind

would a x5 or x7 really work? Im not very good with things like this but how do you change it over?
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Look at Park Tools website.
  • maxamo
    still dont really get what you have to do :? :oops:
    opened up my broken one and there seems no way you can get the wire out if the round thing
    Any help :oops:
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Also try the SRAM website and download the instructions.
  • maxamo
    I dont see what its saying. It wont let me take out the wire from the gear shifter it has like a small bit of metal so it doesnt go back through the whole :?
  • I think most new shifters come with a new cable inner with them. Others can correct me if I'm wrong. My X9 shifters came with inners.
  • maxamo
    yer this is the one i think i need. http://www.evanscycles.com/products/sra ... gn=froogle

i just need to know how to fit it and do i need to put the wire in or is there some way i cant take the old one and put it in here?
    Might just let halfords do it
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675