A Level Cycle trailer Project

2tired2ride
2tired2ride Posts: 285
edited April 2010 in Commuting chat
Hi

I used your advise and comments last year for my AS project, however I am now in my final year of A Levels and now need your comments again.

My project is a cycle trailer for commuting and touring. But not a boring coloured cycle trailer to carry your kid's around but something you would be proud to cycle around. I know the idea of commuting with a trailer attached sounds dangerous, and it might not be the best option for London. But for commuters who travel on cycle path it would be great.

The picture below show my model of the trailer and is one of the marketing posters.

Poster1.jpg

The frame would be made from Aluminium and the cargo body would be made from ABS. The white wheel covers are ment to repersent a hubless wheel, which is more of a concept idea than what would probally end up on there in real life (but it is only an A level project at the end of the day).

The low attachment to the wheel creates a low centre of gravity that really helps with the handling. The pivot point coming off the pannier rack means you can still use panniers if you want to and puts pivot behind the rear wheel which also helps with the handling.

DSC_0928.jpg

This is only a very quick explaination of it and feel free to ask questions and find problems with it.

I look forward to all feedback both bad and good.

Thanks
"If we all had hardtails we'd all go down the hill, just slower"
Nick Larsen

Voodoo D-Jab Ti
Boardman Road Team 09
Boardman Urban Team 08
Falcon 3 Speed

Comments

• FeynmanC
    FeynmanC Posts: 649
    Nice idea.

How would it cope with being parked up, does it have a stand at all or would it need to be leaned against a wall.

Also, what about locking it up outside the shop or work? Any built in security?

I want one that I can use for shopping and to put my old dog in when he's tired out on long runs down cyclepaths.
    us0.png
  • 2tired2ride