Decent mitts - Dromarti vs Rapha

Comments

• bompington
    bompington Posts: 7,674
    The class system rears it's ugly head again. What is your definition of middle class in the 21st century? I had hoped we could all have binned that in the 20th century or at least room 101.

Next time I pass through Dundee I may take a detour off the Kingsway and have a look for neds wearing Rapha gear. You never know stranger things have happened.

Give Liz a big hello from Aberdeen and tell her she has no chance of winning the First Monster until she learns how to ride a road bike.
    She's very competitive & wasn't happy about last year's result...

As for class, I'd have thought it was obvious that middle class means "nice people like me"
  • Do they have to be leather? I've been using Assos mitts for a few years now and find them pretty good...
  • giant_man
    giant_man Posts: 6,878
    This is one of those threads that I wished I hadn't started ....... thanks for all the suggestions and recommendations. Even if some weren't welcome .......
  • bompington
    bompington Posts: 7,674
    Sorry. Buy the Rapha ones, they're great.
  • keef66
    keef66 Posts: 13,123
    I'm glad you started it; most amusing!

Now I need to know which pair you bought, and what you think of them.

I have fond memories of a pair of Halfords mitts which if it rained would stain my hands black for days after a ride.
  • DaSy
    DaSy Posts: 599
    I'd seriously go for the Giro ones I mentioned earlier. Despite having more Rapha gear than is healthy for any one individual, I was very very impressed with the quality of the long finger versions I bought last year.

The pittards leather they use is really quite waterproof, and they don't take on sweat stains so easily. The quality of build is on par with Rapha, and as pointed out earlier, they are only about £40 (£60 I quoted was for the LF's), which I think is really good value.

They look every bit as nice as the Rapha mitts.