what do you photographers use to carry your gear while out?

counterculture
counterculture Posts: 507
edited April 2010 in MTB general
im just getting into photography and id like to be able to take my camera out with me on my bike and capture the moment, but i cant find a rucksack that i can carry extra clothing, food, tools etc and still carry my cameral safely (ive been known to take a tumble), what do you guys use to carry your camera (and gear) safely?

i asked on a photography forum and i was shown Dakine camera bags but they dont seem to have much storage space for non-camera gear. Am i wrong? do they carry enough kit to do an all day ride and get some photos at the same time?

thanks in advance
i spent all me money on whisky and beer!!!

Comments

• rudedog
    rudedog Posts: 523
    I would have thought you'd have plenty of room or an SLR in one of the bigger bags like a Hawg.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    edited April 2010
    A Camelbak Hawg has enough space for a snug fitting of an SLR with a kit lens sized lens, along with compact pump, small toolkit, spare tube in one of the pockets and wallet/phone/keys in the front pocket.

That's what I use :D

It's heavy with a SLR and 2 to 3 litres of water though (p.s. the water is in a separate compartment, and in it's own bladder which is tough enough to prevent bursting in case you're worried about a tumble). Good padding in general.

Been fine for skiing, with hardly noticing the weight and no problem with a couple of tumbles. Enough padding to protect the camera and your back. Cycling I find it's a bit of a heavy weight on the back, probably because of the riding position.

For a compact, there's bags of space in there. Probably could get away with a smaller Camelbak or similar.

Or there are camera bags, but I find them usually too bulky and ridged with all the space for extra lenses and the hard padding. They also don't have the option for water ;)
  • RockingDad
    RockingDad Posts: 239