Toys Hill \ Yorks Hill - Kent

sherer
sherer Posts: 2,460
edited September 2010 in Sportives/audaxes/training rides
Ok i've been riding Toys Hill for awhile but my route to it is usually down Westerham Hill then do a left at Westerham onto the A25 and then up Toys Hill from the A25 side going through Brasted Chart. That side of the climb is about 2.5 miles long and about 10% so is a very good test.

I'm looking into riding the other side but i've never done it before and do sure what the gradiant is ? I usually ride over the top and then a little but where there is a junction and a bench I stop at and go back the way I came. If I decend Toys Hill from the A25 side what is the condition of the road like as the little but i've seen didn't look the best road in the world and don't want to scream down and fall off :D

Also I think if I get to the bottom of Toys Hill then Yorks Hill is very close but i've never been able to find it listed on Google Maps.

Is Toys Hill tougher than Westerham Hill ? I still can't get all the way up that without walking but seem to be getting further and further each time so nearly there

Comments

• Road Red
    Road Red Posts: 232
    Going down Toys from the Brasted Chart side is not very pleasant. The road surface is variable, there are quite a few sharpish turns and steep gradients. It's probably just me but it scares the sh*t our of me!

Coming back up is tough, significantly harder than the other side. I'd probably avoid it until you can do Westerham Hill, then give it a go. I dont think you get as much as 10% coming up from Brasted Chart, I reckon it doesnt go beyond 6-7%. The last ramp on Toys from the other side is more than 10%. Maybe someone with a Garmin can confirm?

I'd definitely avoid Yorks Hill for a while! But if you really want to see it, descend from Ide Hill towards Edenbridge, take the first left, left again and keep going. It brings you up into Stubbs Wood.
  • sherer
    thanks for the info.