which bike, again! Trek pilot 2.1 or C'dale Synapse flat bar

Mattveg
Mattveg Posts: 8
edited April 2010 in Commuting chat
newbie here so please i'll get the apologies in first...

currently commuting 5 days, 100miles per week with a big (imo) climb of about 800 feet on a Marin Novato, rigid slick mtb, which is now knackered after about 18 months of riding - needs new drive bits, don't know what they're called but i can't use the big ring at all without slips and the rims are paper thin...

so new bike through C2W scheme...

happy to go up to the full £1K and have narrowed it down to either

Trek Pilot 2.1 - drop bars and 105 bits
or
Cannondale Synapse flat bar and 105 bits

original choice was a Genesis Equilibrium but they've run out!

I'm fairly fit, 5"8 & 13 st, and the ride normally takes about 35 minutes @ about 15mph, priority is getting home quickly and in comfort - i know the car would do all these but i do enjoy the ride

advice gratefully recieved
FCN = 8

Comments

• Mattveg
    morning!
    FCN = 8
  • DonDaddyD
    DonDaddyD Posts: 12,689
    Why the Synapse with a flat bar?

Why the Trek Pilot and not the 1 or 2 series, which are, arguably better bikes?

Personally it sounds like you're fit and would benefit from a bike that would open up weekend riding, further distances achievable in faster times.

While the Pilot and Synapse are billed as comfortable, if fitted properly (unless you have a specific back problem - and even then...) no bike should be uncomfortable.

My issue with flat bars (from experience) is that when applied to a road bike frame - like the Synapse it gives a more rigid too upright riding position, which affects in a negative way how the bike handles (descending, climbing, plunging into corners sprinting).

That said, I would seriously look at a road bike like the

CAAD 9 (with Tiagra or 105) - generally regarded as one of the best aluminum frames at that price range.