Mountain bike to tourer?

katkins0511
katkins0511 Posts: 11
edited March 2010 in Tour & expedition
I have recently bought an entry level mountainbike ( Carrera Vulcan) and having ridden for 6 months have now got the cycling bug.
I would like to try a bit of touring and have decided to convert my bike.
I have been told that my lockable Suntour Forks are not going to be any good on a long ride ( ie JOGLE) and so I am thinking of swapping them out for a rigid set. I am also thinking of : hybrid style tyres, touring style seat, bar ends racks and panniers. I am a novice and would appreciate any tips on what I should be looking to do to the bike and the best gear to get. I am concerned about the bike being too heavy. At some point i would like to get a hybrid biut for now its upgrade time.
Any help appreciated.

Katkins0511

Comments

• RonL
    RonL Posts: 90
    Most bikes can be converted to suit a particular one off need, but are never quite as good as those designed for the purpose. By the time you spend money on all these replacement parts you could have an entry level tourer from Edinburgh bicycle Co-op. Their own County starts at around £500 includes rack but excluding panniers and is designed for long day comfort touring. www.edinburghbicycle.com le jog is ridden on a range of bike types Suggest you hunt around to see what you can get new or second hand for your budget before converting.
    Pedaling spans generations.
  • vernonlevy
    vernonlevy Posts: 969
    I don't know who told you that lockable forks were unsuitable. Stick with them and use them and save yourself some money and trouble.

Start investigating which rack will fit your bike if it has rear disc brakes.

Your bike is suitable for the ride if you can ride it for the envisaged daily mileage without suffering undue discomfort. It's not the best for the job but it will do.

Hybrid or slick tyres will certainly reduce the rolling resistance. You might also consider fitting mudguards.