bars for converting mtb- on-one midge?

doofy
doofy Posts: 83
edited March 2010 in Tour & expedition
Hi, i wil hopefully be cycling JOGLE with some of the girls from my uni rowing team later this year, but as im a poor student getting a road/touring bike is not an option.
i already have a fairly light strong hardtail mtb ( on-one scandal), which ive alredy spent a week touring round cornwall on with slick tyres etc.
however, im looking to change the bars for a wider range of postions etc, and was wondering if anyone else had any experience of this.
i've seen the standard butterfly bars around but also noticed the on-one midge bars which look good as you still get a farily wide bar whilst getting the drops for more speed/ comfort etc, are they compatible with mtb disc brakes / gear levers etc?

thanks for any suggestions/ comments

Comments

• GyatsoLa
    GyatsoLa Posts: 667
    I have the midge bars on my fixie bike and they are great - very comfortable. I think they are a good bar for comfort, but all the better if you can get bar ends mid-way, that way you have a semi 'aero' position to add to the variations. I've done light touring using them and they work very well.

So far as I know there are no compatibility issues with mtb levers - On One are usually very good with information like that so if you drop them a mail they should answer quickly.

Two other options for you:

Cane creek ergo bar ends on regular straight bars add a lot of comfort. They 'widen' the bars as you have a handhold on either end and having a handhold parallel to the bike frame is better for all day comfort according to my physio. The Cane creeks are expensive but there are a few cheaper own brand alternatives around, I think sjscycles do one.

http://www.canecreek.com/component-othe ... go-control

Another option is the Titec version of the Jeff Jones H-Bar. this is very popular with touring mtbers:

http://www.profile-design.com/titec/pro ... h-bar.html