Tyre width for commuting with 26 inch wheels

supergunn
supergunn Posts: 59
edited March 2010 in Commuting chat
Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie to the forum.
I've stripped one of my mountain bikes to prepare it for commuting.
It's a GT arrowhead aluminium frame bought new approx 10 plus years ago
all the componentry has been upgraded since i bought it
I plan to make this a singlespeed as i only have approx 10 mile round trip all flat on smooth traffic free cycle track.
I will be fitting slick tyres but i'm confused about which width is best to use 1.5 1.75 1.85 1.9 or does it matter.
I will be choosing between these brands Continental city ride , Scwalbe city jet , Michelin city , Schwalbe marathon supreme or other suggestions from members.
If I take to this i will probably start looking for a good old roadie frame with horizontal dropouts but I want to try it out on this bike first.
The conversion cost is quite low DMR tensioner kit and pair of slik tyres.
Also maybe a stupid question but will 700 wheels fit a mountain bike frame.
I don't think so but could you confirm.

Your help and replies will be much appreciated.
Kind Regards
supergunn.

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,714
    Fatter tyres are more comfortable, thinner tyres are faster. I used to run 1.5" slicks on my old MTB commuter and it was lovely, but I think 23mm road tyres are 100PSI are lovely too...

You can fit 700c wheels in a mountain bike frame. They have to be custom built, as the rear hub is a different width for road and mountain bikes. Because of the mud clearance on mountain bikes and the thinner tyres generally used on-road, it's perfectly possible. A friend has a pair of wheels like this with 35mm cyclocross tyres on that I'm borrowing for a while, they fit in my MTB perfectly.
  • supergunn
    Thanks for the quick reply.
    I think I will go for inbetweenies at 1.75.
    Kind regards
    Supergunn
  • AndyManc
    AndyManc Posts: 1,393