boardman urban pro ltd vs boardman team carbon?

domjon
domjon Posts: 25
edited April 2010 in Commuting chat
hi all, newbie here looking for advice. I've been commuting come hell and high water for the past 12 months on a weighty old steel mountain bike...only a six mile commute but fairly hilly and working 12 hour shifts it's becoming a bit of a grind to get home afterwards. So, I've decided the time is right to splash out on something to make the trip a little easier before I become disillusioned with the whole commute by bike lark.

I've been round a few LBS's and sat on various bikes but the two I really liked were the boardman models in halfords. 'was just looking for any opinions on which would be the best option for me...my heart says the Team Carbon but my head says the urban pro ltd.

I've no experience of road bikes at all so really haven't much idea how fragile they might be....my route is all town/country roads...I currently do a bit of kerb hopping etc but could stop that without any problem, condition of the roads isn't great round here, probably the same as everywhere else in england following the crappy winter. I don't need to take much gear with me, just a small rucksack and I'm not bothered with fenders as I've plenty of biking clothing and dont need to be smart/clean for work. Also got secure parking at work.

So am i better playing it safe and going for the urban? Or is it worth chancing the road bike for a bit more speed and possibilities outside of the commute. Is it feasible to use the road bike 90% of the year and jump on the old mountain bike just when the weather is really bad or is it more likely to be off the road for 6 months of the year?

I think I know the answer really but would appreciate the opinions of those more experienced..

Comments

• davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    Welcome!

The road bike will be fine.

I'd avoid the curb and pothole hopping personally, because it makes it more likely that you'll pop a tyre or a spoke.