Mountain Bike leader courses

JayKingFunk
JayKingFunk Posts: 411
edited March 2010 in MTB general
I work in a school and we recently got some money to buy mountain bikes.

I work as a technician but the outdoor activities guy asked if I wanted to be involved, obviously I jumped at the chance.

We've got the bikes but now I'm looking for a Leadership/coaching course to go on.

The idea of me having the course is so I'll be qualified to lead small groups of kids aged from 11 to 18 years old.

I say qualified but its more for an insurance type thing but I have been back into riding for the last 2 and a half years so would like to be able to 'coach' them on the basics and the things that can help them become better riders! I already have a first aid course.

I've had a look round on the net but wondered if anybody on here had been on anything like this before or know anything about these type of courses??

I'm based in South Yorkshire just outside Sheffield if that helps!

Thanks in advance, J.
I love the sound my tyres make on dusty single track!

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    PM Sheepsteeth as IIRC he has done one.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Splottboy
    Splottboy Posts: 3,695
    BC Go/Ride courses, were called Get Set before. Skills/Drills courses etc.
    MIAS do Mtb Leaders courses, as do BSCA, CTC etc.
    There's also a group teaching up here in N.Wales doing Mtb leaders courses.
    Finally, the "heaviest" course in terms of commitment, money, time is the Scottish one.

As former BC Development Officer/BSCA Nat Head Coach/Go Ride/Get Set tutor/BC Level 2 club coach tutor/BSCA Mtb Leader and tutor... I'd get some info from ALL the above and compare the courses and see if it's what you want etc.
    Some are days, some w/ends and some take months to complete.

You pays yer money and takes yer choice!!
  • Anonymous