carbon stem/seatpost on old alu mtb

thrope
thrope Posts: 69
edited March 2010 in The workshop
Hello,

I've been commuting for a couple of years on my old ('94 vintage) cannondale m500 which I've taken good care of and still seems as good as new.

I find it very responsive and good for bashing up and down curbs without any problem, carrying a lot of gear etc.

A while ago I bought a beat up old Raleigh pro race road bike from these forums - but felt like I got a bit of a raw deal because it was in pretty poor condition, not really as described. Anyway I cleaned it up and it seems ok apart from the brakes being a bit scary. I haven't ridden it much though since without a rack I thought it wasn't any good for commuting (also thought road wheels weren't up to the bumpy streets).

Anyway I have been changing the bb on my cannondale - the last moving part that hasn't been serviced/changed - and while I've been waiting for the new one to arrive I've been commuting on the raleigh. The main thing is I'm amazed how much more comfortable the ride is - even with 120psi 23's vs 60psi 1.75 (travel contacts) on the mountain bike. It's a lot smoother and I don't feel every bump/crease in the road like I do with the mtb. (it has been really bad since this icey winter - all the roads in manchester are completely f**ked)

So I guess it is down to the cannondale being aluminium - but I have to say I was really surprised at the difference... I would like to keep it for wet weather commuting etc. but I'm not sure I can go back to the bumpy ness...

Finally the question: is there anything I can do to make the ride smoother? I heard carbon seatpost/stem might provide some cushioning and make things smoother - is this likely to be noticeable. How much can I get reasnobly budget versions for? How long to they last for (don't want to spend alot of money for something that will only last a few thousand miles - don't want to spend a lot of money at all really).

Thanks!

Comments

• will3