exercising, but can't lose weight, help!

marge602
marge602 Posts: 22
edited March 2010 in Health, fitness & training
Hi guys, i'm marges wife. and i'm thoroughly fed up. I've been dieting for over 2 years and lost over 4 stone :D
but...
am increasingly having gains when i increase my exercise.
i use my cross trainer about 4 times a week for between 30 / 40mins and walk lots. we go out on the tandem, so far has only been a short ride cos it's sooo frickin cold. i also walk lots an my job is quite active. also, like to use the wii.
anyhow went to weigh in today feeling like wonder woman and came away feeling like shit with a pound and a half gain, was a half pound gain last week. i just don'tknow what to do.
i'm not very good on a bicycle on my own, balance, steering issues so doing the rides hubby, so i keep it indoors til we get out together on the tandem.
someone please help me, even to tell me the same thing happens to them. :cry:

Comments

• asdfhjkl
    asdfhjkl Posts: 333
    It all comes down to diet, not exercise. Don't get me wrong, exercise helps, but it won't compensate for poor nutrition.

What do you eat? How many calories? Do you know how much you should be eating?
  • rhyko7
    rhyko7 Posts: 781
    this is simplifying it somewhat, but to lose weight you have to be burning more energy than you are consuming, if you are not losing weight then you either need to consumer less energy or burn more, dont forget its not just calories, look at fat content and carbohydrates too.
    perhaps increase your cardio sessions from 30-40 mins to 50-60 mins

also ignore the weight, go by how you look, or measure your waist, or use body fat analyser or fat callipers, because muscle weighs more than fat, you may have put on a bit of muscle and lost fat and therefor would have put on weight.
    Dont look at it-ride it! they are tools not f*cking ornaments

my riding:
    http://www.youtube.com/user/rhyspect

Some of my Rides Data/maps: