Multiple Questions! Wheels, casettes etc etc etc

chopperHarris
chopperHarris Posts: 119
edited March 2010 in The workshop
Loads of questions guys and gals so help please!

After a winter of commuting my Specialized Allez is starting to show signs of the abuse!

rear wheel was a bit grindy so thought i would clean the bearings etc at the weekend, and to my amazement i am a bearing down on one side (drive side) Also the wheel has a slight buckle from a couple of tumbles and general london road use, rear casette has done about 5k miles still looks ok but then im no expert!

My questions are as follows

Wheels - i can get some new bearings (cant find any on CRC?) and get the wheel straigtened but im wondering should i just purchase a new wheel set, they are the stock Specialized hubs with individual bearings instead of a sealed unit and i have to strip them regularly to keep them spinning well. if new what should i get, its only used for commuting so dont need anything to fancy.

Casette - how many miles should it do? Should it be replaced

Bike has done around 5k miles over three years and is still running all the original Tiagra parts that came with it,

should i look at replacing some of these now? everything works ok, gears are selected fine, its not as smooth as it was when i first got the bike but im worried that i have just got used to it not working as well as it should etc.
08 Felt Compulsion 2 SE
09 Corratec S-light
10 Giant Defy 2

Comments

• benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    Cant advise you on wheels as I havent bought roadie ones for ages, but on the bearings, any LBS (even Halfords) should be able to sell you a pack of balls of the right size for around £1. Just take in a sample.
    A Flock of Birds
    + some other bikes.
  • benpinnick