do i need to just mtfu

im first to die
im first to die Posts: 224
edited March 2010 in MTB beginners
i have been riding for about 9 months now and am good on the up hill sections 2nd to the top out of the 10 of us that ride together but am allways last to the botom is it skill or nerve i need :oops:
if i had my time again would i take the time to make the right choices

naa thats no fun

Comments

• phoebian
    phoebian Posts: 497
    I'm generally quite fit and can manage hills and even enjoy them some what, but as I have only been mountain biking twice, I lack the skills for speeding down the trails. I go at them with some speed, but compared to others I'd look slower lol. Maybe you need to push yourself a little bit more, step up your game. If you have nine months of hills under your belt, you must have nine months of descents under your belt also.

If you fall, pick yourself up and try again!
  • at 34 i am not getting any younger have commitments work/morgage etc am scared of falling off ond hurting my self

naa thats no fun
  • just read thet back
    going tomorrow to get my Kn*b cut off and buy my first dress i think i am a girl

naa thats no fun
  • phoebian
    phoebian Posts: 497
    hehe, I understand. I wouldn't worry about everyone else being faster, just go out there and enjoy yourself!

Maybe buy some pads?
  • Cheshley
    Cheshley Posts: 1,448
    I rode with Phoebian in the Peaks last Sunday, he's better at the DH bits than I am and I've been riding off-road on and off for about 12 years!!!!!

I used to ride any downhill section you pointed me at but since having a couple of years off the bike I have lost all confidence. I don't like downhill sections, especially rocky or loose surfaces as I think I'm going to lose the front end.