Flat or clip in pedals?

fergusm
fergusm Posts: 7
edited May 2010 in MTB beginners
I have been riding with clip in pedals for a few years and am happy with them on easy terrain.

This morning I went to Swinley Forest for a couple of hours and after 5 falls and some battered knees I am wondering if I should switch to flat pedals when tackling the tricky stuff?

What's the opinion of the forum? Should I switch or is it worth persevering with the clip in pedals??

cheers

Comments

• GHill
    GHill Posts: 2,402
    Very divisive topic this one :wink:

With a bit of practice you should get more comfortable with the clipless pedals on tech terrain, but if you really don't like it...
  • Soul Boy
    Soul Boy Posts: 359
    A personal choice, but I used SPuDs for years, then changed to flats.

I regularly go for a hack around Swinley, just a bit of fun, so don't really feel the need to get maximum efficiency out of every pedal turn.

What ever you feel comfortable with.
  • Phonk7
    Phonk7 Posts: 178
    Flats all the way, i endure the uphills for going down the other side...
  • peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    All I use is flats with five tens and although I've never tried spds flats aren't as bad as people say. They are way more of a laugh on the way down and thats whats its all about anyway :lol:
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Try them! Get a pair for 12 quid ie Wellgo V8, give them a few goes and see how you get on.
  • peter413
    supersonic wrote:
    Try them! Get a pair for 12 quid ie Wellgo V8, give them a few goes and see how you get on.

Make sure you stay away from those plastic pedals though :wink:
  • Bikerbaboon
    Bikerbaboon Posts: 1,017
    peter413 wrote:
    All I use is flats with five tens and although I've never tried spds flats aren't as bad as people say. They are way more of a laugh on the way down and thats whats its all about anyway :lol: