Bike Shoes

Bikeman8989
Bikeman8989 Posts: 23
edited April 2012 in MTB beginners
I am new to mountain biking and am thinking of getting some bike shoes (clip-in) before i go to the Lake District. My friend said i should get some a while before i go so then i can loosen the clip-ins as they are stiff at first. Is this true?

Any help is appreciated

Thanks

Comments

• Wooliferkins
    Wooliferkins Posts: 2,060
    It is a good idea to get used to them first. It appears to be a rule of thumb that you do at least one graceless dismount with SPDs before you get used to them.
    Neil
    Help I'm Being Oppressed
  • spudly1979
    spudly1979 Posts: 172
    hi, definately give them a try on some off road you know fairly well.

I got pedals and shoes for xmas this year and after several attempts i've given up - i don't dare use them on anything too technical as i don't trust myself!

I have some shoes for sale if you're still looking......!
    Canyon AM 6.0
    At some point i am going to manage to jump one of these things.....
  • llamafarmer
    llamafarmer Posts: 1,893
    As above, get them well before you go and get used to using them, clipping out becomes second nature eventually. It'd probably be good to break the shoes in a bit before you go doing (I assume) a weekend of riding.
  • benpinnick
    benpinnick Posts: 4,148
    The clip ins themselves wont vary much in terms of loosening up, although as the cleats wear down they do get sloppier, but you're talking thousands of miles.

You shoudl get some and back the tension all the way off to practice. Once you're comfortable with them then tighten up a couple of notches, and in a few months tighten again as experience means you can run them tighter, which will prevent unwanted pop-outs.