Air Pollution

Erika
Erika Posts: 9
edited March 2010 in Commuting chat
Hey all,

I'm a Product Design student In New Zealand and I'm currently looking into the issue of Respiratory Safety for exercising outdoors in Urban areas. To find a solution I need to find out as much as possible from those of you who feel affected/concerned by the issue. I will be designing a system or product that hopefully appeals to users and improves respiratory safety and performance but I need to know your thoughts/wants/needs/don't wants in a product!! If you've got a bit of time it would be great if you could answer the following survey to help my research along!

If you could just copy these questions into a reply message that would be awesome!

Thanks so much for your time, it's a huge help!

Erika

What Country and City do you live in?

What age group are you?

Are you Male or Female?

Do you live in an urban or suburban area?

Do you commute to work by walking or cycling?

Do you participate in any outdoor sports in Urban areas?

Do you feel any health effects due to air pollution during these sporting activities or commuting?

If yes, what are the effects/symptoms?

Are you concerned by the global increases in air pollution?

How common are respiratory masks to for respiratory safety in your country/urban area?

Have you ever worn a mask for respiratory protection?

If yes, how did you feel about wearing it?

If no, would you consider wearing a PPE product (personal protection equipment) to aid respiratory safety if you knew air pollution was seriously affecting your health?

What do you feel prevents people from wearing a PPE mask for respiritory safety? (i.e not considered fashionable or reduced performance or just not concerned about the health effects of air pollution)?

Thanks again!

Comments

• Headhuunter
    Headhuunter Posts: 6,494
    London, UK

Hard to differentiate. I live within travel zone 2

Cycle

No