Hello all and a small rant

Spenge
Spenge Posts: 25
edited March 2010 in Commuting chat
I have recently signed up and thought I would introduce myself here as I am a beginner commuter.

I used to travel from Waterloo to Westminster but i don't suppose that really counts as a commute! Anyway, just moved house and currently commute in from Charlton to Westminster.

Still getting used to the awful London driving and the horrendous potholes but I think I am getting the hang of it!

Anyway... onto the ranting! I was happily cycling along Jamaica Road, through Bermondsey and a car undertook another and passed pretty close to me. I muttered some profanities and glared at him though his mirror and he pulled back into the right hand lane. I carried on my way eventually catching up to him as he sat in a queue. He then proceeded to wind down the passenger window and spit at me as I cycled past. I couldn't believe it. I am p***ed!

Really could have done with a helmet cam or something!

Dave

Comments

• asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    That's what your d-lock is for. Apparently.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • lost_in_thought
    lost_in_thought Posts: 10,563
    Nice, really nice. I wonder if spitting is assault?

It should be...
  • Tomred
    Tomred Posts: 41
    should have planted your foot into his door! dents are hard to remove and cost cash!!!Thats why god gave you cleats in the bottom of your shoe's, dont put up with this kinda behavour! happy commuting dude! give em hell!!
    Klien
    Kona
    Tomasini
    Basso
  • suzyb
    suzyb Posts: 3,449
    Up here the train conductors were being given DNA collecting kits so they could get the DNA of anyone that spat on them and IIRC report them to the police.
  • That's really nasty. Don't let it put you off, some drivers will always be pricks no matter how you're travelling.

Welcome to the forum.
  • Aidy
    Aidy Posts: 2,015