Slipping chain on middle ring of triple chainset

dphb
dphb Posts: 32
edited February 2010 in Workshop
Hi all,
firstly, apologies if some of this sounds a bit confusing, i'm relatively new to cycling so not 100% on all terminology.

I took a 2009 specialized tricross sport into my local bike shop for a full service. None of the components on my bike had previously been changed.
So all the components were as listed here

http://www.specialized.com/gb/en/bc/SBC ... nuItemId=0

They changed the bottom bracket, the chain and the rear casette - the chain was worn down and they said the chain had worn the teeth on the rear casette, hence I was getting slipping gears on the back.

So, I took the bike home, and strainght away I noticed that as soon as I put any force through the pedals (i.e. I stood up), the chain slipped off the middle chain ring and I did up to half a rotation on the pedals "freefalling". - This didn't happen prior to the service.

I took the bike back to the shop & they looked at the middle ring and said the profile looked ok, but the teeth were a bit short, so they decided it needed changing.

So, 1 new chain, 1 new rear casette and 1 new 39t middle ring later..... I did 3 miles this morning and the chain slipped twice on the brand new middle ring!!

I would understand the slipping if it was on the top or bottom ring as it would mean the gears aren't adjusted properly, but the middle ring??

Anybody have any suggestions as to what I should do?

The new middle ring is a 39t shimano ring (previous one was 39t FSA), the new chain and rear casette are SRAM (previous were all shimano). The gear ratio of the casette is the same as the old one.

Any help is much appreciated as it feels like I'm just throwing money at the bike and it's getting worse!!

Many thanks

Comments

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    Sounds to me like your LBS have not got your chain length correct.