What 'summer' bike??

jopari
jopari Posts: 84
edited February 2010 in Commuting chat
I've been riding a Dawes discovery hybrid thingy for 4 years now, which has been a great servant. But all this talk of 'summer' and 'winter' bikes has tempted me into looking into cyclescheme through work, and a lovely fast roadie for those balmy summer evenings.

My heart is rullling my head at the moment, and am looking for a 'steely'. Should I go for:
a) Kona Honky Tonk (love the bike, but not keen on this years colour). http://www.konaworld.com/bike.cfm?content=honkytonk (so budget in the £750 category)
b) Woodrups (of Leeds) make me a nice bespoke bike for around the same price.
c) Something else (is steel just an aesthetic thing, or are there real advantages for longevity and ride?)

Thanks all!
Cannondale R800 - Dry
Kona Honky Tonk - Wet
'96 GT Outpost - Kids on back
Genesis Core 120 - Mud
Raleigh Pro Race - Shop

Comments

• wgwarburton
    wgwarburton Posts: 1,863
    jopari wrote:
    .... (is steel just an aesthetic thing, or are there real advantages for longevity and ride?) ... !

I like steel, but, to be objective, you can make a good bike out of any of the popular options. There are tradeoffs, and they shift a bit with the price point, but the only real answer is to try for yourself and see what you like.
    In terms of longevity- I have (and use) a good steel frame that's over sixty years old, I've also written off two cheap steel hacks as a result of rusting due to abuse. An Aluminium frame can also corrode and a bad one may well be vulnerable to fatigue failure (Al doesn't have a "fatigue limit", so if there's a strain-point on the frame it will eventually crack). This shouldn't happen if the frame's been made correctly.
    Carbon-fibre frames don't rust, but are alleged to be more vulnerable to impact damage (CF is extremely strong but the material is brittle, so impacts may weaken the frame).