keeping warm while riding

freeride-mike
freeride-mike Posts: 553
edited February 2010 in MTB beginners
As im relatively new to xc riding i tend to just ride in what i have (waterproof walking jacket, trackie bottoms, zip fleece) ive found in my jacket im waterproof but get so hot i poor with sweat and in my fleece even though warm'ish i still get very cold on the chest and forearms :?

ive read peoples topics on base layers, mid + top layers etc.... an am a little confused, i dont want to spend alot as the winter months are coming to an end or look like the michelin man (more than i already do) with lots of layers on, so some advice on a base layer top (long sleeve) to wear under my fleece idealy to keep the wind out would be appreciated :wink:

thanks in advance
mike
CUBE ltd 2012,reba sl, XT, saint, DMR, spank, current xc/am ride

GIANT boulder, marzzochi EXR, LX/alivio, DMR, spank, retro build

Comments

• mrfmilo
    mrfmilo Posts: 2,250
    Ideally you should get some proper cycle clothing.

If you want cheap, but very good get a Tenn Outdoors baselayer, Tenn Outdoors Jersey and a windproof jacekt ( I use Altura Cropton)

That keeps me very warm
  • Splee
    Splee Posts: 9
    I'd go with a few thinner base layers rather than anything like a fleece just for ease of movement.
    Something like a tech T from Berghaus x2, a gilet then a wind/waterproof breathable outer layer has done me fine through the snow over xmas and new year. I have had to put two pairs of gloves on though and usually have a polar buff on.
    I do also have merino base layers which are excellent but are quite expensive, if you ski then justifying buying merino is easy as they're great for any energetic exercise in the cold.
    As for windproof that is usually down to the outer layer but I did buy a long sleeve top from deMarchi I think that has a wind proof coating just on the chest which is ideal on the road bike but I don't alway feel is necessary off-rode.