How flat is an average 10M TT course?

ravey1981
ravey1981 Posts: 1,111
edited February 2010 in Amateur race
This may sound like a daft question but how flat (or hilly) is the average 10M TT course? I have a loop which i use for quick blasts of about 10m. Ususally takes me about 28mins but my thinking is that it is hillier than an "average" TT course. I'm new to this and just looking to make some (very vague) comparisons of how i stand pace wise at the moment....

Comments

• SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    It depends, I don't think many are pan flat, and the ones in Kent are rolling to say the least. Even the fast dual carriageway courses are rolling.

Best way to see is enter an event, you will be quicker in a race, then you could go in training, pinning a number on always seems to get more out of you. 28 mins is not too shabby if you have never done one before, especially if you are on a normal road bike.
  • a_n_t
    a_n_t Posts: 2,011
    but if there's more ups then there's more downs :wink:
    Manchester wheelers

PB's
    10m 20:21 2014
    25m 53:18 20:13
    50m 1:57:12 2013
    100m Yeah right.
  • ravey1981
    True :lol:...but I'm pretty sure the uphill bits cost me more time than the downhill bits save me...if that makes sense...
  • GavH
    GavH Posts: 933
    I've wondered the same thing before. What is a 'typical' 10m TT height gain - 200, 300, 400 ft? (etc)
  • If its not bad form to link to another forum:

http://www.timetriallingforum.co.uk/ind ... opic=18586

Matt
  • a_n_t
    http://ridewithgps.com/trips/11047

Our club 10 course, 182 ft of climbing so naff all really.
    Manchester wheelers

PB's
    100m Yeah right.
  • redddraggon
    redddraggon Posts: 10,862
    a_n_t wrote:

What about other hazards though?
    I like bikes...

Twitter
    Flickr
  • ravey1981
    Just used the same web plotter to do the course I use for "training"

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/30464