Recommended Multitool

dan1502
dan1502 Posts: 568
edited January 2010 in MTB buying advice
Can anyone recommend a value for money multitool that will have all that I need? I'm a complete beginner so don't know where to start. I don't want cheap rubbish but good quality at a good price.

Thanks
Santa Cruz Tallboy

Comments

• rowlers
    rowlers Posts: 1,614
    Topeak Alien II, don't need anything more :wink:
  • blister pus
    blister pus Posts: 5,780
    Topeak Hexus.

Nice balance of stuff you'll actually use to get you back on the move. Or back to a workshop where you can use proper tools and equipment.
  • ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798
    i have a decathlon one, pretty cheap, has everything you need and i've had it for years and none of the allen keys etc on it have rounded, and i've used it A LOT.
    Production Privee Shan

B'Twin Triban 5
  • *AL*
    *AL* Posts: 1,185
    Topeak Mini 18.

Never wanted for anything else..
  • +1 for the Hexus.
    Northwind wrote: It's like I covered it in superglue and rode it through ebay.
  • joshtp
    joshtp Posts: 3,966
    Topeak Hexus.

Nice balance of stuff you'll actually use to get you back on the move. Or back to a workshop where you can use proper tools and equipment.
    i built a complete bike with mine, the headset and bb were already fitted.
    I like bikes and stuff
  • GHill
    GHill Posts: 2,402
    I like the topeak ratchet rocket series. Either the RX for more bits or the "standard" if you need a chain tool.
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    rowlers wrote:

Most of the time you need substantially less :lol: Hexus is a better judged mix of tools for most bikes, and nicer to use to boot. Alien's good if you use racks or the like.
    Uncompromising extremist
  • Noclue
    Noclue Posts: 503