Unsympathetic Other Halves

kelsen
kelsen Posts: 2,003
edited January 2010 in Commuting chat
My wife doesn't like me cycling as she thinks it's too dangerous. I've been commuting for over 5 years around London and realistic about the inherent dangers, but I tell her at the end of the day anything we do can be dangerous and all we can do is minimise the risk the best we can.

Does anyone else have the same problem with their partners and how have you dealt with it?

Comments

• Jamey
    Jamey Posts: 2,152
    My girlfriend is terrified of me dying too but it works in my favour... Anytime we have an argument I know we'll definitely have made up before my next commuting journey because she can't bear the thought of me dying while we weren't on speaking terms.

Slightly morbid but often handy :)
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    Just use some statistics, surely the added fitness of commuting lowers your risk or heart attack etc. enough to outweigh the chance of death.
  • Clever Pun
    Clever Pun Posts: 6,778
    you've been cycling for 5 years and you're not dead or injured...nuff said

the missus disaproves of me not wearing a helmet but I explained the details etc she's still against it but realises it's what I do
    Purveyor of sonic doom

Very Hairy Roadie - FCN 4
    Fixed Pista- FCN 5
    Beared Bromptonite - FCN 14
  • Mithras
    Mithras Posts: 428
    My Mrs isn't concerned about me dying...however I have picked up a knee injury and she is pretty pi55ed off I need to use the car! :roll:
    I can afford to talk softly!....................I carry a big stick!
  • SBezza
    SBezza Posts: 2,173
    More people die using a car, just tell her that. Maybe not as a percentage of users, but still more people actually die in car crashes.

I am sure my wife worries a little, but then again I worry about her a little having to do a 35 mile round trip on the M20/M25.