Advice needed: Whats the secret to smooth changing gears?

loxster71
loxster71 Posts: 269
edited February 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi all and forgive me as i'm a newbie with no technical knowledge at all.

What is the secret to smooth changing gears?

Is it quality shifters, derailleurs and components etc?

I have just bought shimano LX shifter pods, SLX front mech and already have LX rear mech, will this guarentee good accurate smooth gear changes?

Does the chain and sprockets have much to do with this?

Hope i don't come across a bit thick but it's all new to me.

Thanks in advance for your answers. :D
Giant Trance X3
Boardman Limited Edition Carbon #344
BMC Streetfire ssx( converted to flat bar Hybrid)

Comments

• supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Good cables, good set up, and non bent parts.

The more expensive shifters do tend to be slicker feeling, but all gears should feel smooth.

The chain and sprockets make little difference I find with 8 and 9 speed.
  • robertpb
    robertpb Posts: 1,866
    To add to that, anticipation.

Making sure you're in the right gear for what's in front of you.
    Now where's that "Get Out of Crash Free Card"
  • loxster71
    loxster71 Posts: 269
    Is there a noticeable difference in the type of cables i use ?

Ie, are xtr cables better than deore?
    Xtr cable set on ebay £17.95 is this a good price and are they worth getting?

Thanks for your replies so far.
    Giant Trance X3
    Boardman Limited Edition Carbon #344
    BMC Streetfire ssx( converted to flat bar Hybrid)
  • supersonic
    supersonic Posts: 82,708
    Clean, well cut cables. I just use standard shimano inners and outers from the roll.
  • stumpyjon
    stumpyjon Posts: 4,069
    Same as Sonic for cables, used expensive ones and not seen any difference in shifting performance.

The most important aspect of smooth gear changes in order are: