How far can you actually cycle with a punctured tyre

colintrav
colintrav Posts: 1,074
edited January 2010 in MTB general
If you happen to pick up a puncture ... . Be it back / front or both .. And how many times will you have to stop to put in the air

Comments

• delcol
    delcol Posts: 2,848
    3 time on the way home from work, 6 miles... rode the last mile with it flat as i could'nt be arsed to pump it up again...
    this was on my road bike on the road and was my front tyre...
  • colintrav
    colintrav Posts: 1,074
    Every 2 miles

I've always believe riding with a flat does more damage ot the tube and wheel rim
  • a certain Lance Armstrong rode the last 10 miles of the Leadville 100 with a punctured rear tire last year, but i don't know much else about this as i have no personal experience.
  • *AL*
    *AL* Posts: 1,185
    colintrav wrote:
    If you happen to pick up a puncture ... . Be it back / front or both .. And how many times will you have to stop to put in the air

That would pretty much depend on the tyre/tube, the size of the hole, and if the object that caused the hole is still in situ stopping the air escaping more quickly ?
  • bigmart
    bigmart Posts: 87
    Question should be how far can you ride before your rim is fooked,
  • chris_sw
    chris_sw Posts: 100
    Rode with a flat tyre for ~2 miles, and the tyre side walls don't look too great any more, rim is fine though, but this was over soft ground.
  • GHill
    GHill Posts: 2,402
    Far far too many variables.
  • biff55
    biff55 Posts: 1,404
    dumb question.
    why dont you ride over some tacks and find out for us.
    i'm really interested in the outcome.
    :wink:
  • stevet1992
    stevet1992 Posts: 1,502
    I know someone that rode the half of the last lap of the 24/12 last year on a completely rear tyre ! Rim was fine
    On-One 456 Sainsburys Season

Calling All SouthEastern Riders