In need of some encouragement!

Fat Bird
Fat Bird Posts: 23
edited March 2010 in Women
I started riding about a year ago. I was seriously over weight and I entered myself into Race the Sun in a bid to lose the flab. Thanks to the cycling by the time of the event in Sept 09 I'd lost nearly 3 stone and was only a couple of pounds off my ideal weight.
After the event I suffered from ITB sydrome in my right knee then to top it off I broke wrist! After four months (and an increase of 10lbs mainly round the waist & arse!) of no riding I've just this weekend got back on the bike and I can honestly say it nearly killed me. It's the first time that I really didn't enjoy it (don't suppose the 2ft deep mud, howling wind and horizontal rain helped!). The last thing I want is to be super fat bird again so I'm hoping that there maybe some riding buddies in the North Essex/South Suffolk area who would be up for the odd weekend rides?
Any takers?

Comments

• Jedi
    Jedi Posts: 827
    good on ya for the weight loss and the want to get better!

look on singletrackworld,eppinghardcru and bikemagic too for riding buddies
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    think buns of steel and do some hip flexor stretches!

pm me if you want some.
  • Thanks for your replies guys
  • PamPen25
    PamPen25 Posts: 111
    I just started getting into off-track/single track riding (last few months) and I go with a bunch of guys, I'm always the last one down the hills as I don't have as much fearless riding in the mudding conditions as them, I'm going to get myself some knee and elbow pads to boost my confidence, as I'm fed up with the (light-hearted) taunts.

All I can say is, keep it up and you'll look back in a few months time and wonder what all the fuss was about.