Just bought my first bike - What do I need to do now?

a900ss
a900ss Posts: 91
edited January 2010 in MTB beginners
Guys,

Bought my first bike yesterday and now need to kit myself out to ride it. The following is what I think I will need:

Helmet
Computer (It may not be a ‘need’ to most people but I am getting one as I need to set myself targets and see how I’m doing against those targets)
Shorts
Gloves
Toolkit/Pump/Tyre Levers

Anything else that I should look at getting?

Any other tips you can give to a complete novice.

Thanks guys, you’ve been really helpful up to now.

a900ss
2010 Specialized Rockhopper Comp
2010 Trek 1.5 Compact
Now to diet, get fit and lose at least 3 stone!!! (2 of the 3 stone now lost...)

weight.png
Diet started 1/1/2010

Comments

• i think that pretty much all you need to begin with although given the time of year perhaps a half decent waterprrof riding jacket and mayb socks but u should be good to get out there with that :D
    CUBE ltd 2012,reba sl, XT, saint, DMR, spank, current xc/am ride

GIANT boulder, marzzochi EXR, LX/alivio, DMR, spank, retro build
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    If you want a good computer for training I would recommend a garmin edge 305 HR+Cadence. If you have a mobile phone with a GPS, then there are plenty of apps you can download to help you.

you also need spare tubes - I would buy at least a 4 pack - try woolyhatshop or CRC
  • Glasses, just some cheap safety specs will do.
    Northwind wrote: It's like I covered it in superglue and rode it through ebay.
  • Every ride I've always got with me:

-> Lid
    -> Gloves
    -> Shorts (padded underneath baggies)
    -> base layer
    -> top layer (good water/wind proof jacket in this weather, DH shirt or nothing in the summer)
    -> Sports socks in the summer, wetsuit socks in the winter
    -> riding glasses
    -> Riding pack containing:
    -> 2litres of water/riding fuel