Roberts 953 or Enigma XCR

remy martin
remy martin Posts: 121
edited January 2010 in Road buying advice
I am looking at a steel option for 2010.

I've been riding a carbon Condor for a few years now and before that a Specialized Tarmac. Have been quite happy with both but I'm itching to get a good steel frame after having had a 853 steel mtb for about a year.

Riding wise, I commute daily rain, hail or shine and was looking at the stainless steel option largely because I can't afford the Ti frame that I'd want. Plus, I quite like the option of a painted frame. Whatever I decide on, it's going to be used in all sorts of weather. Oh, I realise there are £1K Ti frames out there but unfortunately they don't fit me.

I have seen an Enigma in the flesh. It looked fantastic and was extremely light. Haven't seen a Roberts but I've only ever heard good things about the company.

The Enigma frame is built with Columbus XCR (£1400) and I think is fillet brazed. The Roberts is lugged and buit with Reynolds 953 (£1100).

I'm 5'4 so, I'm unlikely to get a chance to test ride a frame that fits me. Since they're both custom bikes, I've no doubt that either will fit well.

However, for now, I would appreciate it if anyone here who has given either of these bikes a look / test ride would let me know your thoughts.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614