Upper Body Armour

DanielleT
DanielleT Posts: 259
edited January 2010 in Women
Hello People!

I'm looking for some armour as i've just got in to DH and thought its best to try and protect myself in some way! I've noticed there isn't much in the way of womens specific armour but I've seen the RockGardn Flak, Aplinestars Stella Bionic and the IXS Battle EVO Jackets. I was just wondering what everyone else uses and whether you've goen for womens specific or have got away with the mens versions?

Thanks! :D
delightfully dangerous!

Comments

• I know exactly what you mean!! I'm just getting into DH aswell and the choice for womens kit is rubbish!!! I bought a size small 661 Pressure suit off Ebay and it was too big. I'm 5ft 2" and 9 stone. I think you'll be alright if you're bigger built but if not, womens specific is the way to go. I'm planning on the Alpinestars Stella in the new year. Same goes for Jerseys!! I bought 'smalls' from 3 different companys and they were all too big!!

What makes this so annoying is, I would happily buy mens kit as its loads cheaper than the womens!! :roll:
    Pain is Temporary, Glory is forever!
  • Its rubbish isn't it! I'm 5ft 6" and just over 9 stone, so not massively built. I tried on my boyfriends 661 armour which is a small, but it swamped me! I really like the look of the IXS one, but its so expensive! Suppose its just going to be a case of trying loads on and hoping something fits. The companies are really missing out not providing decent sized and priced kit for girls! Ah well :)
    delightfully dangerous!
  • SJ
    SJ Posts: 2,871
    I'm in a similar boat but on the other end of the scale, been riding and racing DH for a few years with no armour because as a large busted lady there is nothing out there that fits!
    Friends use the Alpinestars and Rockgardn armour and give good reviews of them both if that's any help?!
    a dirtbag of the most delightful variety