New Biker looking for rides in Crawley/West Sussex

RhysGM
RhysGM Posts: 3
edited January 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi, I'm new to Mountain Biking, I've just bought a Kona Coil Air through the Cycle 2 Work scheme. I know it's a bit cold and dark in the evenings at the moment, but wondering if any unfit people in Crawley wanted to go on some bike rides.

I've tried Tilgate and it's far to boggy and scary for me. So anyone know any nice cross country routes, they can take me on? Don't mind going out on the weekends or in the evenings after work, I also don't mind driving to somewhere nearby. But just to warn you I am a smoker and very unfit.

Rhys.

Comments

• Rhys,

Tilgate is definitely boggy right now - and there are some very scary bit indeed.
    We're doing a run to East Grinstead and back, on the Worth Way, tomorrow night. Depending on which part of Crawley you live in, it might be worth giving it a go - you could always turn round and head back if you think that you've had enough.
    This route is fairly flat and contains no scary bits at all - details here

In the longer term, check out the Sussex Muddy@rse website and forum for details of organised rides in and around your area.

We're a friendly bunch, who cater for all skill/experience/fitness levels.

Bob

If you didn't learn anything today, you weren't paying attention!
  • Noclue
    Noclue Posts: 503
    Hey more riders local to me, i live in Crawley Down so the worth way passes through the village, was up at Tilgate on Monday and the forestry works have totaly destroyed the trails at the moment, but there are some sweet singletrack trails around the park and farm on the other side of the motorway and they are fairly mud free considering the time of year.

I don't have much time now before christmas but would gladly meet up for a ride after christmas, me and a mate are hoping to get out on the 28th ish, could drop you a pm then if you fancy it.
  • Noclue wrote: