Help ! Cycling positions up hill and technique uphill.

sylwia
sylwia Posts: 9
edited September 2018 in Road beginners
Hi I was just wanting to know peoples ideas on this one.

1. When cycling up hill what is the prefered position for you hands.

2. What sort of strategies do people use for the long 2.5 mile uphills with ref to siting and standing. I know the good club riders tend to tear up these hills very quickly.

Should hands be on the bottom of the handle bars or on the 2 top break/gear changers.
I'm not sure as i haven't been doing this long.

Obviously i'm trying to improve get quicker and be more efficient.

I have seen sprinters use the bottom of the bars.

Looking to improve my average MPH uphill can't seem to get upto 8mph on the long uphills in the Peak District stuck at 6.5mph.

Cheers
Braddles (I'm a novice)

PS I KNOW EVERYONE IS DIFFERENT AND A DIFFERENT STYLE SUITS MOST.

Comments

• generally use whatever feels most comfortable, at 8mph air resistance is going to be very negligible so the drops hold little advantage other than holding the front down a bit better.

I tend to use the hoods but that is on a ss/fixed gear bike.

The main way to get better at cycling up hills is to cycle up hills more. Try hill repeats, a lot, say, repeat your 2.5mile hill. Start in a gear you're comfy with, then do it again at the same cadence. Repeat until barely able to turn the cranks over.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    Sit up, hands on top of the bars, select a lowish gear and spin up the hill. Try pushing your backside into the seat as well, and just tap out a decent rhythm up the hill. The trick is to put some sffort in but not all. Spinning up will prevent too much lactate building up, especially if you are just starting out cycling. You can stand for sections at a time, with your hands on the hoods, if you feel you need to stretch or change position.