Aluminuim frame storage...

Whytepeak
Whytepeak Posts: 2,616
edited December 2009 in MTB general
I've got an alu frame that I'm keeping for a build next spring, and want to keep it out of the way...

But is storing it in a damp garage, an environment not dissimilar to being outside, the right think to do? - I've little space to store it in the house, and was wondering if the frame would come to any harm hung up in there for a while...

Sorry for the repetative subject of my topics... :roll:

Thanks for your help...
Now that we are strong ought to bear the infirmities of the weak and not to please ourselves. ROMANS 15:1

Comments

• I'm no expert but I keep my Trek 6700 which is aluminum over winter in my Dad's garage, so far no problem and have been doing this for a few years now.
  • My Aluminum framed commute bike which I bought in Nov 2006 is left out in the garden in all weathers, apart from a simple tarpaulin over it. It hasn't corroded yet :lol:
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • Father Faff
    Father Faff Posts: 1,176
    I heard that aluminium bikes corrode from the inside so one day when you are riding your coat of paint it will collapse in a heap......
    Commencal Meta 5.5.1
    Scott CR1
  • I heard that aluminium bikes corrode from the inside so one day when you are riding your coat of paint it will collapse in a heap......

Wow, I hope so, what better words of advice to upgrading to a carbon framed bike :D
    CAAD9
    Kona Jake the Snake
    Merlin Malt 4
  • Whytepeak
    Thanks guys, so it should be fine, but it may disintegrate mid-ride. :?

Father Faff
    I heard they become weaker at the welds over time - all this folk lore, I don't know :roll: .
    Now that we are strong ought to bear the infirmities of the weak and not to please ourselves. ROMANS 15:1
  • bails87
    bails87 Posts: 12,998