Eggbeaters - Conflicting reviews

afcbian
afcbian Posts: 424
edited December 2009 in MTB general
I have recently purchased a set of Eggbeaters MXR pedals and was about to fit and use them but there seems to be loads of conflicting reviews on these.
A biking buddy of mine swears by them, hence my reason for getting them but many reviews on the interweb thingy slate them badly for unreliable clipping in/out, damage to shoe bases and bearing failure. Even the Bikeradar review says they are so-so.
I would be interested to hear some more "real" experiences.
I ride therefore I am

Comments

• jpstar
    jpstar Posts: 561
    Why don't you try them out to get your own opinion on them? Every opinion is going to be different in some way or another so only you can really decide on them, if not, ask to try your mates?
  • I've been using eggbeaters for about 6 years and only had one pair disintergrate on me.

They do need more care than shimano, they do eat into the sole of some shoes, the 'wings' do wear out as do the cleats.

I have never had a problem unclipping but occasionally have a problem clipping in, but no worse than any other pedal.

Grease the pedals from new, pump the grease right through.

I won't use any other pedals (egg beater style that is, I use mallets now on the mtb), the release angle suits me better than shimano mtb pedals.
    --
    Burls Ti Tourer for Tarmac, Saracen aluminium full suss for trails
  • ive got candy's and Love them! but i Havent tried shimano's so cant compare!
    there are a lot of people that are happy with them!
    they do loosen up with use too as they will feel tight to get in and out for the first dozen rides or so, but now i can quite easily dab a foot down without thinking!

as for bearings, one of mine went after 18 months of offroad use and No maintenence what so ever, but £12 for crc for a full pedal rebuild kit and there sorted,

as above, bung em on, have a go and see what you htink!
    Timmo.