Help with a probably easy answer (I hope!)

MattMurray
MattMurray Posts: 2
edited December 2009 in MTB general
I am hoping someone can help without me having to buy a new set of forks!

Recently I had my bike serviced and was told that my steerer tube on my forks is too short for my stem and the top bolt isn't clamping on it, so in fact it is dangerous. Now, having ridden the bike like it for 8 months and noticed some knocking I did think something was wrong.

This is where I need help though good people of the web: can I remedy this by adding something to the steerer tube or is it new set of forks time?

I have found some Reba Race 100's for £249 but if I can avoid spending this so close to Christmas, that would be good.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• I'm no expert but i think your best bet is to sell you forks on fleEbay and get the new ones. It won't be much fun when your go over a bump and your forks fall off your bike. When selling be sure to specify the steerer tube length, as the length of your tube will fit a smaller bike.
  • Did you buy the bike or forks used?
    It's a it strange for a steerer tube to be too short.
    I'd certainly look at new forks though
  • wordnumb
    wordnumb Posts: 847
    Do you have any spacer rings below the stem?
    Can you remove the top cap and see where the top of the steerer is in relation to the stem?

The top cap doesn't hold the stem in place and is very simple to remove and replace.
  • You can get cheaper Reba's. Try the classified section on this website or singletrack world usually lots of them around.

But yes change them, you can't remedy it. Unless of course as other people have said you have spacers underneath the stem, which I very much doubt if the bike shop said it was too short.
  • GHill
    GHill Posts: 2,402
    Depending on the fork you may be able to buy a new crown/steerer. Could be pricey if you want if fitted professionally.
  • Torres
    Torres Posts: 1,266