Building Confidence After A Fall

Avoneer
Avoneer Posts: 525
edited November 2009 in Commuting chat
Hi All,

Not sure if this is the right section, but seemed appropriate for me.

I've been commuting for nearly 20 years now and apart from the odd gentle slow speed tumble (ice / new spd's), I've only ever had two bad falls.

One about 12 years ago on some ice which resulted in a broken collar bone and 1 month off work and more recently, 3 weeks ago.

Was nearly exact same circumstances - coming down a hill, turn at the bottom, bike goes one way, I went the other.

Landed on same shoulder, but fortunately and after 3 x-rays, just badly damaged muscles.

My shoulder is stilll really hurting 3 weeks later and I've not been able to do my weights, cycle commute to work and swim and it's really beginning to get me down.

Aside from that, I've only been out on the repaired bike (new brifters and bars) and I'm so lacking in confidence.

Bike just feels all twitchy and I'm going down hills at about 10mph rather than the 30 odd like before.

I'm just not comfortable on the bike at the moment.

Any tips anyone or is it just a case of stop moaning and get on with it?

Cheers,

Pat...
"Campagnolo has soul, Shimano has ruthless efficiency and SRAM has yet to acquire mystique. Differentiating between them is a matter of taste"

Comments

• BentMikey
    BentMikey Posts: 4,895
    Nothing wrong with being careful like that after a fall. I'm sure we all do it to some degree in similar circumstances.

Have you thought about going to see a physio about that shoulder? I would.
  • bradford
    bradford Posts: 195
    Keep yer chin up lad! :wink: Try and put the fall out of your mind for the moment and your skills will come back quicker than you think.If you keep dwelling on it,you may as well give up now.Remember why you cycle ? You can't beat the buzz can you! :D
    You won't feel the pain in your shoulder as much when your bombing along :wink:
    Good luck with it Pat.
  • Rich158