commute times!

darrena8
darrena8 Posts: 74
edited November 2009 in Commuting chat
I've been commuting to work now for a few months,its 8 miles each way!

Iam only doing this 2-3 times a week and clocking up an average of about 50miles a week,i know thats not alot compared to some folks on here but iam pretty chuffed with my progress.

Iam just interested to see how far other people travel and what times there clocking up takes me on aveage 40-45mins there and 30-35 mins home....
Fastest time to date is 28mins! Is that any good for a mountain bike,i understand a road bike may be a bit quicker

cheers
Daz

Comments

• cjcp
    cjcp Posts: 13,345
    Depends on how much traffic and stopping points you have to get through, but seems like a good time to me. Keep it up. :)
    FCN 2-4.

"What happens when the hammer goes down, kids?"
    "It stays down, Daddy."
    "Exactly."
  • -spider-
    -spider- Posts: 2,548
    I normally cycle 2 - 3 times a week 14 miles each way with 1000ft of climb. When I break the hour, I'm happy.

-Spider-
  • It's about 21 miles, I leave around 5.20am:

On the Vespa in the morning my PB is 31mins, average 33mins; going home it is around 45-50mins

On the Trek it is about 1hr 30mins, I take it fairly easy and keep HR around 140bpm, and rarely RLJ.
    Vespa GTS 300 most days... Trek 7.7FX the rest
  • I commute 6 miles each way in London so time is traffic, red light and suicidal pedestrian dependent. best time so far is 24 mins, slowest after having flu and in the wind has been 36 mins. I'm usually faster on way home but I think that's because the traffic is lighter (I go in early/leave early so am home by 5pm most days.
  • essex-commuter
    essex-commuter Posts: 2,188
    edited November 2009