Chippenham Beginner rides problems... is it just me?

joec1
joec1 Posts: 494
edited November 2009 in MTB beginners
Im new to the whole MTB thing.. having returned to riding after a 10-15 year gap (during which i attended 6th form and tried to stay awake. then progressed to uni and drank etc etc... the usual scenario)

anyway. i have recently started riding after i got enveous of the fun a few of the my friends have while out.

I started with absolutely no intensions of being great... or being able to keep up with their pace. and am a little stunned by their attitudes to me trying my best.

I bought a Tyax Super and have been spending weekends (about 200 miles so far) getting used to it and trying to improve my fitness so i dont hold them up etc. have bought myself a set of spd's which are working wonders (and also hurting hwen i fall off occasionally lol) haha.

its got the point now though, where im begining to feel a bit of an outsider. im really trying my best and am avoiding some of the longer rides they can do (so i dont ruin it for them)

Grr some people are so not "Beginner" friendly...

Has anyone else experienced similar problems? and how did you get around it?

Ps... if anyone in a similar situ lives in or near Chippenham and or Bath please get in touch as some beginner company would be most welcome on rides.
www.settingascene.com - MTBing in Wilts and the southwest, join up for info and ride details.

Comments

• llamafarmer
    llamafarmer Posts: 1,893
    It's a shame your mates aren't a bit more patient, if they helped you along you'd probably be riding at somewhere near their level pretty quickly.

I'm from Bath, but I do all my 'local' riding in Bristol, which is a fair old trek for you.
  • joec1
    yes its a bit further away lol... where abouts is there in brizol? ive done a nice ride through ally in the woods (of course... no where near a footpath ;) )