best technique for loose rocky descents

jools182
jools182 Posts: 216
edited October 2009 in MTB general
I always thought it was bes to try and stay loose and let the bike find its own route to a certain extent

However, I was forced to change my usual line the other day due to some sheep on the trail and had to get up on the grass banking, as I was rejoining the trail, I hit a rock at a funny angle and the bars snatched sideways so that my wheel was horizontal to the slope of the hill and I was straight over the bars

Is it just one of those things or should I be keeping a firmer grip on the bars and just ploughing through?

Comments

• bomberesque
    bomberesque Posts: 1,701
    I'm no expert, but you can be firm and loose at the same time. keep your grip firm but your arms loose, then you have quicker control

however it does sound like you just got unlucky in this case, or perhaps fell for the old "don't look at the rock!" trick
    Everything in moderation ... except beer
    Beer in moderation ... is a waste of beer

If riding an XC race bike is like touching the trail,
    then riding a rigid singlespeed is like licking it
    ... or being punched by it, depending on the day
  • just an error not necciserily on your part
  • RealMan
    RealMan Posts: 2,166
    For that sort of stuff I tend to go as fast as any corners in the trail allow, and then pick a line around the bigger rocks. Bunny hopping comes in useful now and then too.
  • Hercule Q
    Hercule Q Posts: 2,781
    i just go flat out over the loose stuff keeping good grip on the bars and my arms loose but sounds like you just got unlucky this time

pinkbike
    Blurring the line between bravery and stupidity since 1986!
  • paul.skibum
    paul.skibum Posts: 4,068
    Ride the rear a bit more, lighten up the front and keep off the brakes I reckon. Repair the punctures later.....
    Closet jockey wheel pimp whore.
  • Biggus86
    Biggus86 Posts: 385
    Hercule Q wrote: