tubeless repair?

mrlewis
mrlewis Posts: 60
edited October 2009 in MTB beginners
i was out cycling today and got a thorn stuck in my tyre, cut the story short, i plled it out and now had a flat tyre. im running tubeless and was wondering if the sealants that you can buy would sort my problem out? if so how would i do it?

i am a noob when it comes to tubeless! and would be greatfull if anyone can help!

thanks in advance
lewis
exercise.png

Comments

• jairaj
    jairaj Posts: 3,009
    Yes using a sealant with the tubeless set up can help to to seal up punctures.

Stans or Joes sealants are some of the more popular ones.

Im currently running a tubeless setup but only had a couple weeks and haven't tested out the puncture repair performance yet.
  • Northwind
    Northwind Posts: 14,675
    If you get a bigger puncture, you can get tubeless-specific repair kits (good on the trail as they can be fitted without removing the tyre) or you can put a standard inner tube patch on from the inside. But IMO tubeless without sealant is just not a good idea, you save about 60 grams per tyre but you lose what to me is half the point of tubeless.
    Uncompromising extremist
  • mrlewis
    mrlewis Posts: 60
    this may sound silly but how do i get the sealant into the tyre? it doesnt look ike i can put it into the valve? any suggestions/ways to get the sealant in?
    exercise.png
  • Panter
    Panter Posts: 299
    If you have Schrader valves, you can get a little tool to unscrew the valve core and add it through there.

Alternatively, just pop a bit of your tyre bead off and tip it in (unseat it at the 9 o'clock position and let it run down to the bottom)

HTH

Chris :)
    Racing snakes. It's not big, and it's not clever ;)
  • ride_whenever
    ride_whenever Posts: 13,279
    If you've got presta valves then you can often unscrew the cores from them as well.

below the knurled valve open shut bit can come undone.