Training for L’Etape du Tour 2010

hanegby
hanegby Posts: 4
Hi,
I just signed up for the 2010 Etape.
It will be my first time participating in race of that scale. So, I was hoping if someone could recommend on a solid training schedule that will get me ready by July.
I have been riding around 100 – 200 miles a week for the last 14 months, so I think I have the base. But I’m not sure how to prepare for this one.
How long before do I need to start the specific training for the Etape? I live in New York, so not a lot of mountains around here, how do I find a solution for that?
I do know what I’m getting into since I rode up the Ventoux last summer and learned what HC climbs are all about.
I will appreciate any response.
Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Hi, I live in Ohio and have done the Etape 3 times.
    Most of my training was done on the trainer. You can incline your bike to simulate hills. I do mostly 2x20 at threshold and 2 hour tempo rides. Try to lift up the intensity of both throughout the winter/Spring
    When the nice weather comes I do long outdoor rides. My favorite is to ride 3 hours tempo before a brutal group ride. As that is what it feels to do the last climb after 100 miles of riding .... :)
    Get some serious shorts gears. I have a triple with a 27 cassette. I have also put a 29 in the back. It is easier tu suffer at 70rpm than at 50 :D

If I have a chance I'll head out the southern PA for a weekend to train on some longer climbs.
  • normanp
    normanp Posts: 279
    betulla - wise words about the gears - the Marie Blanc is incredibly steep!