New bike delivered with front fork the wrong way round!

drabfurs
drabfurs Posts: 188
edited October 2009 in MTB beginners
After discovering the above am obviously concerned at who put the bike togther and if the rest of it is ok!! My main question is this, should a new bike come with the chain lubed.

Im a newbie and not sure if there is enough on there, doesnt feel like much to touch.

I took it out for the first time today and it rides great but the gears are clanking a bit when changed...is this normal for a new bike, does it need bedding in?

If I need more lubewhat should I use?

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    was it the wrong way round?

Pics?

which side of the bike is the disc on?

chains come pre lubed.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • djb1971
    djb1971 Posts: 565
    If you had it from Pauls in a box you had to adjust the bars and set it up, no?
  • Whytepeak
    Whytepeak Posts: 2,616
    Are you sure the bars weren't just turned the wrong way round so it could fit in the box?

Or are the forks Manitou?
    Now that we are strong ought to bear the infirmities of the weak and not to please ourselves. ROMANS 15:1
  • Whytepeak wrote:
    Are you sure the bars weren't just turned the wrong way round so it could fit in the box?

Or are the forks Manitou?

lol +1
  • captainfly
    captainfly Posts: 1,001
    Whytepeak wrote:

Not that old chestnut, unless the forks were really put on upside down that would be a cause for concern :o
    As for the chain it depends on the chain, there are plenty of threads about this have look around and do a search.
    -_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_
    Mongoose Teocali
    Giant STP0

Why are MTB economics; spend twice as much as you intended, but only half as much as you wish you could afford? :roll:
  • mayonaise
    mayonaise Posts: 159