sora or tiagra shifters???

scazzer
scazzer Posts: 254
edited February 2013 in Road beginners
hi guys n girls
Always had mtb but do alot of road cycling on it,work has just set up for cycle scheme so im after getting a road bike aswell.

went looking at some LBS to get an idea of wot spec the bikes are for my price range which is £500-£600. In 1 of the shops was told to try and go higher in price as for my price range i would more than likely get sora shifters and that the tiagra shifters are the way to go :?

Like i say im new to road bikes so are they awkward to use(sora) or would i be ok as i cant really afford to pay much more unless i want my balls cut off by the missus :lol:

Comments

• skyd0g
    skyd0g Posts: 2,540
    Picking Tiagra over Sora may be worth the risk of at least one testicle. IMHO Sora have an annoying thumb lever (which is difficult/impossible to reach from the drops). :wink:
    Cycling weakly
  • FeynmanC
    FeynmanC Posts: 649
    skyd0g wrote:
    Picking Tiagra over Sora may be worth the risk of at least one testicle. IMHO Sora have an annoying thumb lever (which is difficult/impossible to reach from the drops). :wink:

+1

The way I convinced The Lady was to get her to try them out - she said "Get the ones that work properly!"
    us0.png
  • scazzer
    skyd0g cheers m8,suppose i can live with 1 :shock:

so is that the difference that sora are ok when hands positioned on top and tiagra are ok top and on the drops??
  • skyd0g
    scazzer wrote:
    skyd0g cheers m8,suppose i can live with 1 :shock:

so is that the difference that sora are ok when hands positioned on top and tiagra are ok top and on the drops??

Essentially, yes. The Sora shifters have a thumb lever to change up (ie. moving down the cassette) that you can only reach from the hoods.
    The Tiagra (like 105, Ultegra, Dura-Ace) have a fully integrated brake/shifter lever that you can use from either the hoods or the drops. Much better. 8)
    Cycling weakly
  • softlad