Cycle to work scheme?

MrCraigBerry
MrCraigBerry Posts: 15
edited October 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi guys,

Can somebody explain how this works, and if it would be beneficial to me?

I'm currently a student, with a part time job which I do around 30 hours a week, as a doorman. I have been with this company for about 2 years, in which I receive my wages weekly with a payslip and tax out goings pate and ni etc.

Would I be elligible for the scheme? What would I need to do, and how does it work?

Thank you very much.

Craig.

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Thanks for that, however I am still abit confused?

Would the payments for the bike come out of my wages, on top of my tax already?
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    First does the company you work for do a Cycle to work scheme?

If not then you cant do it.

as to your other question

How it works

Your employer buys the bike and ‘hires’ it to you until you’ve paid it off. You pay the full retail price of the bike through monthly instalments (salary sacrifice) taken out of your pre-tax and National Insurance pay. So there’s no Income Tax or National Insurance taken out on those payments. This translates to almost 50 per cent off a brand new bike, paid for over 12 months usually.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • The money is taken out of your wages before you are taxed and in so you don't pay any tax on it. You also don't pay tax when you buy the bike so save again.

On the down side most of the companies offering to do the Cycle To Work paperwork for your employer charge. For example one of the bigger ones charges 11% to use them. They don't charge it to you but rather the bike shop. In so the odds of getting any discount from the bike shop is slim.
  • bernmc