Bike cleaning

Theaudiobully
Theaudiobully Posts: 32
edited October 2009 in Commuting chat
Afternoon people,

I’m relatively new to cycling and I’m trying to get some info on cleaning and general maintenance to keep my bike (carrera subway 2 hybrid commuter) in top condition.

I’m also after a pair of reasonably priced gloves and tights to see me through the winter if anyone has any recommendations.

Much appreciated. :D

Comments

• Headhuunter
    Headhuunter Posts: 6,494
    I clean my bikes with warm water with a little washing up liquid or washing powder in it. Both these have salt in them, so you have to make sure you rinse the bike thoroughly afterwards. As for the drivetrain, I use Decathlon degreaser occasionally, wipe it, let it dry for a while and then regrease with Decathlon spray chain oil. You can by a pack of both for about £6. Make sure you don't get grease on your tyres though as grease weakens rubber, I tend to cover the bottom of the rear tyre with a cloth when I'm degreasing as the degreaser tends to cause oily drips which can land on the tyre.

As for gloves and tights, I have tights from Wiggle, LIDL and Decathlon and gloves from Decathlon. All decent enough and cheap.
    Do not write below this line. Office use only.
  • davmaggs
    davmaggs Posts: 1,008
    I've started wiping the bike down with baby wipes fairly often. Spotted the tip on this forum, and whilst I do the full wash now and again the wipes allow me to keep on top of the winter grime. I tended to put off the full wash.

On the chain front I recommend being careful with the degreaser. I went a big overboard with it and found some surface rust appearing. I suspect I took off absolutely all the oil and didn't dry it as well as I thought. To avoid too much deep cleaning I now wipe the chain with a rag to get the bulk of the goo off, and then use the tip of the rag to quickly go between the links (also over gear wheels).
  • R_T_A
    R_T_A Posts: 488
    Hi and welcome :)