Clothing advice needed for road to mtb switch??

luketorroni
luketorroni Posts: 73
edited October 2009 in MTB beginners
Hi Everyone...

I'm new to the MTB side of Bike Radar as I've always been a road cyclist myself. I'm looking to start some off road cycling, mainly trials including the usual stuff... through trees, muddy/wet terrain and the rocky stuff.

I'm ok with equipment but my main concern is clothing for off-road??

Most of my kit is designed for the road and is mainly 'Assos' which I have painfully saved for and purchased over the years. I'm worried that this isn't going to stand up to the toughness of trial riding and if I need something more durable (and less painful on my wallet if I fall and damage anything)? Brambles?

Obviously it's going to get very muddy so that will mean more washing and durability issues. Any advice you can offer for a road to mtb transition would be a really helpful??

Comments

• Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    anything at all, as long as you're comfortable in it.
    A great many mountain bikers just wear normal shorts and T-shirts.
    Outside of trail centres, it's quite rare for me to see mountain bikers wearing any kind of lycra, to be honest.
    The wind resistance is much less of an issue as the speeds are lower (lower gearing, smaller weels, rougher terrain), so the super-streamlined lycra doesn't offer much of an advatage.
    Also, I'd wager a bet that the vast majority of MTBers ride more for fun, than trying to beat their best times, etc.
  • ewok
    ewok Posts: 51
    I would suggest a old pair of trainers or skate shoes to start with as the trails are strting to get a bit messy. Otherwise just wear something comfortable and you dont care to much if it gets plastered with mud.
  • tlw1
    tlw1 Posts: 22,120
    decent pair of shorts to start with & build the rest of the kit up over time
  • diy
    diy Posts: 6,473